Here’s what stuck: First semester of MFA over.


Previously, I had written about my week of hell with school. So much was due in a span of three days PLUS speaking in front of the Burlington public that we had to put on all by ourselves. We made it through pretty well.

If you are interested in seeing my portfolio(which I had to cobble together, along with the final daily project, and the “Come Together” video), go here.

If you want to read about my semester in my Technology as a Disruptive Force class, go here.

Want to watch the Symposium video? Go here. I’m in the beginning of the video in a skit, and then again around the 40 minute mark. Wait for the video to completely load first.  I encourage you to watch it all to get a grasp of what I am studying, reading, discussing, and thinking about on a daily basis.

Here’s what I learned:

-No amount of planning can prepare you for making mistakes. I dropped the ball within a group project and I didn’t plan on throwing out an almost completed project to start over when it was due in 12 hours.

-A group of 12 people who are still learning from each other in the first four months of a graduate program can do pretty cool things under pressure.

-Project managing is a gift that I am hope to hone better this spring semester. I was originally assigned another project, but within a week of that assignment, I was assigned another, and it was baptism by fire. Champlain College is acquiring some pretty kick ass undergrads. I’m happy to have had them on our team.

-Yogurt, Dunkin Donuts hash browns, a shit ton of Starbucks chai lattes, and no sleep will produce some, uh, interesting art work.

-I realize that I am an art student, a design student, and a critical thinker. I’m not a perfect one, but I feel I can grow while I’m in Burlington.

-Asking for help and being vulnerable about your flaws is a trait that I need to work on a lot.

Spring semester 2012…here we go.

Leave a Reply

