Class of 2001: Highschool reunion musings


My 10 year highschool reunion is tonight and tomorrow-I went to an all girl’s highschool in Memphis, and we are co-celebrating with our “brother” all boy’s school from down the street. Tonight is an event at my classmate’s house for the girls and some of our teachers, and tomorrow is the bar get together in downtown Memphis.

I’m mixed feelings-I think I’m 60/40 sad about not being there. On the 60% side: It would be great to see some of the girls I haven’t seen in years, or more than a year even. Since the dawn of Facebook, I’ve pretty much kept up with everyone with an account, either personally or ambiently. I graduated with 67 girls, and have been able to find those who left over the four years as well. I have two highschool friends I keep up with on a regular basis, and others every now and then. Yes, social media has helped. It’s made face to face meetings a little awkward, too, sometimes. How do you wrap up ten years of your life in a five-ten minute conversation, and then quickly go on with your day or night? I also worked with a few classmates in my previous job(which was the highschool), so I was always around to hear alumnae news.

The 40% part–I work myself up for something to be great in my head(Romy and Michelle anyone?), and then it just deflates very, very quickly. Very anticlimactic to the point that I don’t want it anymore. But, I do want it…but, then I glance over to my overflowing bookbag of homework, assignments, meetings to book, and laundry to do over in the corner of my room…

Majority of my classmates are married, with children, or married with children. I’m not. I feel that I am much different than I was ten years ago. Will I look back in 10 years and wish I had been there? I have no idea. I know it’s one of those life passages-a reunion-and it’s supposed to be a special, sacred thing. Most blow it off.

I still can’t believe it’s been ten years. The school has changed, but the upstairs hallway that houses a lot of the classrooms really hasn’t. Smells are still the same. A few of the same teacher faces.

Just older. Like us. We are approaching a new decade in a year in age(our 30s…shit).

How did that happen so quickly? I didn’t realize it that time was going to so fast in college, and now here I am, staring at 29 in a few weeks, and I’m in a new city, a new life.

Congrats on ten years, class of 01. Hope yall have a memorable time.

Leave a Reply

