Decisions


   I’m moving.

Over the last six years, I’ve known that Memphis isn’t my only stop along this journey. I’ve lived here my whole life, and really do love this city.  Yet…there has been a tugging in myself to see what else is out there. I’ve been accepted into the class of 2013 as a MFA student at Champlain College in Burlington, VT. Want to check out my program? Here is it-Emergent Media. I fell in love with this area in 2002 when I became a counselor at Camp Chateaugay in the Adirondacks. We would race to Burlington on days off to soak up beer,  shopping, and time away from kids and responsibilities.

I’ve told family,friends, and work  and they are all pretty supportive, and surprised.  I really wanted the program in Paris to work out, but I feel Burlington is another adventure.  So now I am trying to figure out how to pack up my life in Memphis and beging a new one 1300 miles away.

One more summer in Memphis. The program is five semesters,  but I don’t know what to do after that.

It’s not real until I’m in my car driving away.

Leave a Reply

