V-Day means more than valentines.


  In November of 2009, I began following @justgirlinworld (Elizabeth Cawein) and read a tweet about meeting up at Cafe Eclectic for anyone interested in performing in The Vagina Monologues. Now, I’ve heard of these vignettes, and began reading the book in the summer of 2002, so I was familiar with the territory. Over the next five months, I, along with 8 other women,  practiced, laughed, and yes, moaned throughout these monologues, with a February 2010 performance at TheatreSouth. We raised over $2,500 dollars for  the Planned Parenthood of Greater Memphis. We were amazed and humbled by the amount of attendees at each performance. My worldview expanded with new knowledge of Planned Parenthood, the female experience, and the relationships between men and women. My comfort zone was in maximum overdrive.  I still have my beliefs, but I am more open minded about these topics.
    Here we are again, a new year, and a new VagMo! We have old and new cast members, and ready to rock! February 10th-12th at TheaterSouth. Doors open at 7:00pm, with curtain at 7:30pm. Saturday night will be extra special because we are inviting all audience members to an after party with the cast-stay around afterwards for wine, and a pretty awesome DJ. Tickets will be on sale soon online. Prices will be $8 for students, $10 beforehand, and $12 at door. Get them early!

Find us on Facebook and Twitter.

I found a video from the University of Pennslyvania that I think will dispell many rumors or accusations of the monologues. Hope it piques your interest to come see what our “troupe” has to say. Know a woman or care about one? Please attend!


The Vagina Monologues Video from Sarah Stoecker on Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

