September.


“The true beloveds of this world are in their lover’s eyes lilacs opening, ship lights, school bells, a landscape, remembered conversations, friends, a child’s Sunday, lost voices, one’s favorite suit, autumn and all seasons, memory, yes, it being the earth and water of existence, memory.”
– Truman Capote


Today is the first day of a new month. Many Memphians are pretty glad that September is here–a break in the heat, fall is coming, and football season has commenced. I actually turned off my air conditioner twice this weekend.


With the season almost changing, this quote from Truman Capote struck me. I live on a constant “go, go go” dial-have to get here, move faster, keep your head down, drive faster, go, go, go! I observed over the last two weeks of my life how I haven’t really relaxed and enjoyed my surroundings. Autumn/fall forces me to stop and look around. Trees change into brilliant colors, I get to wear a sweater or maybe even a light jacket, and the days start to grow shorter. 


I’ve found other poems about harvest time, and watching vegetables grow, yadda yadda yadda. I guess I see movies and read books where people live by the seasons, or soak in what is around them vs waiting in traffic, paying bills, going through a drive through, etc. 


Plus, this month starts a countdown towards the holidays. You can’t fight it. Stores won’t let you. I actually saw on a pretty popular East Memphis restaurant “Book your Holiday Party NOW!” Honestly? 


Hope this September is a good one and a nice gateway into fall.

Leave a Reply

