A new year, new possibilities…


The school I work for in Memphis begins next Wednesday–this is later than most PK-12 schools in the area due to a new building built on the campus, and another one renovated. Smart move. For the last five years, this time always make me sentimental-hoping the graduates(the 12th graders and 8th graders) from the previous year find whatever road they travel on to be fill with luck and also hoping they remember what our school has taught them, and also looking towards the new year. August is a time for me to realize the summer is almost over, fall will be here somewhat soon, and then the holidays. I think of better ways to run my office, and do a post-mortem of sorts of the previous year.

As I’ve gotten older(post college), it seems each year goes by faster and faster–how did I get to 27 and a half? Wasn’t I just 23 a second ago, and freaking out what to do with my diploma? Or how I did jump from 26 to almost 28 so quickly? I know I have grown up a lot since 2005(the year I graduated from University of Memphis), and I think my current job has been a factor. Juggling twenty things at once, learning how to teach people about technology, putting out “fires,” and just learning how to communicate with adults in a field of customer service(I guess). I have no idea where this school year will lead me, but I know it will be a year of looking around and figuring out my path. I know at my age I am still considered “young,” but when I look around and see people settling down, enjoying their jobs, moving to pretty cool places, or just having experiences that I wish to do makes my mind wander and do the “what ifs?” So, I am thankful for my current situation, and hope for the best.

Leave a Reply

