How grammar is important in a Chick Fil A drive-thru.


After an unexpected two hour post work nap(third evening in a row for this to happen), I ran a few errands and drove through the Midtown Chick fil A. The very nice girl at the window stopped me before I could get out my money and very innocently asked:

“Alumni Association? How do I get to be in that?” (I have a University of Memphis Alumni Association sticker on the driver side of the window).

Um…well…

I told her, “First, you have to graduate.” She looked at me dumbfounded and proceeded to say “Well, I am going there this fall, and wanted to join.” I just laughed and said they probably will tell you more at orientation how to join Future Alumni of Memphis.

She just smiled, I told her that I am glad she is going and I drove off. I laughed really, really hard.

Dang, Gina. For those of us who need a refresher on alumni, alumna, and alumnae, go here.

2 thoughts on “How grammar is important in a Chick Fil A drive-thru.

Leave a Reply

