Anyone seen Elvira Gulch yet?



This morning, I woke up at 4:20am to an automated siren voice yelling that “Please take cover. This is a tornado warning.” along with regular weather sirens blaring. Um, what? Jumped out of bed to get my tennis shoes on, find my freaking flash light, and get my contacts. Yes, it’s spring time in Memphis and that means tornadoes. Twisters. Where Memphians become BFFs with their bathtubs, hall closets, and if you are lucky like me, your basement. YET…the last 12 hours has brought almost a foot of rain to the west Tennessee area. This doesn’t happen. People still feel they can beat strong wind, rain, and hail by driving to who knows where.

No. No. No. Even our mayor has said to use common sense. Plus, the weathermen are just full of glee that ‘naters may come. This is not soothing! But, I digress…

So, suffice to say, I have been sitting on my couch, and going up and down the stairs to the basement to take cover. Doesn’t help that I live by myself, and I have no idea what to do if Armaggedon happens…but, damn it, my five page paper is due on Monday, and I need to go to Kroger and return my Redbox DVD that I HAD TO HAVE last night. BTW, Brothers is not a bad movie.

Word of the day: “shear.”

Yours,
Andrea

Leave a Reply

